TOS
MagiC
MiNT+N.AES


Milan-TOS

The Milan-TOS has still got some bugs here and there. Michael Schwingen fixes a few now and again. However, I strongly recommend using a replacement OS such as MiNT or MagiC. For those of you who want to stick with SingleTOS at least use the latest release TOS 4.08. You can get it here.
TOS versions before this one have faulty PCI routines! The latest beta version can be found on the Homepage of Michael Schwingen or in the download section.

Bootblock

So what is that now, a bootblock? The bootblock is that program which is executed as the very first thing even before TOS. It's tasks are recognizing the hardware (CPU, CPU clock rate, PCI cards, etc.) and the RAM test. Once these tasks are done the bootblock loads TOS from the Flash-ROM into RAM, unpacks and starts it.
And believe it or not, but the latest bootblocks do have an x86 emulator built in to be able to execute the BIOS of some graphic cards!!!

Milan-Setup

The Milan-Setup program (MSETUP.PRG) should come along with every Milan. It is used to write some presettings into the NVRAM (= Non Volatile RAM). You can get an up-to-date version in the download section.

Localization:
Here you can select the language, keyboard layout as well as formatting of time and date. These settings should be familiar from TT or Falcon (or other Ataris with NVRAM).

Disk:
Here you can select which IDE or SCSI devices you wan to use. If an ID is selected but no device connected for it this will slow down the boot process significantly. As far as IDE is concerned it has shown to be sufficient only to select ID 0.
However, SCSI devices are only recognized if they were switched on at boot time and if their ID was selected!

Memory:
Settings here are mainly for the use of a sound card. The sound card can only access RAM which is declared as ST RAM. If you have a sound card installed you should at least select 8 MB. If you have more than 32 MB RAM, select 14 MB.
As the RAM is physically one piece it doesn't matter whether programs run in ST RAM or not. This is different on a Falcon or TT, as I'm sure all of you know.

PCI BUS:
This is to assign interrupts for installed PCI cards. TOS actually does this automatically, however it's up to you to say which interrupts you want to use for the PCI cards. Don't worry about the order, it doesn't matter. Obviously you'll never have to use this part of MSETUP unless you install a new PCI card. But there is one thing you have to make sure, and that is not to have an interrupt assigned here which is already used by an ISA card. Here's a list of interrupts used by some ISA cards:
The Creative sound cards can be operated at any available interrupt.

Flashing the TOS

Another one of these strange computer words, flashing! Milan TOS is put into a so called flash ROM. If you want to write a new TOS into that ROM, that process is simply called 'flashing'. Besides TOS you can also write a new bootblock as well as the SCSI driver. For this purpose you need the FLASH.PRG, which should come along with every Milan. Alternatively there's a FLASH.TOS, too, which has no GEM interface, but which also lets you read the current TOS/bootblock from ROM.
The usage of the program is not too difficult and shouldn't cause any problems. But I really want to emphasize that your Milan is in a very critical state during the process of writing a new TOS into the flash ROM:
If for some reason you switch the power off, your Milan most likely won't work anymore and you'll have to send it back to have it repaired. So only use the program if that's really necessary. You have been warned. Anyway I can only think of four cases when you need the flash program: So you really only need the program very rarely.

MagiC-Milan

MagiC-Milan differs from other Atari MagiC versions in that way that it is now split up into a hardware dependent and a hardware independent part. That means above all that MagiC now relies on a properly working TOS! On original Atari computers MagiC fully took control of the hardware. But it also means that MagiC from now on is more easily portable.
MagiC-Milan is shipped on two HD discs:
1. MagiC Milan 6.1
2. MagiC 6.1 extensions
The installation is done via INSTMAGC.PRG.
To install and use MagiC there are a few things to care about and there are a few differences to other MagiC versions:

FAQ about MagiC



MiNT+N.AES

I personally recommend MiNT combined with N.AES on a Milan. MiNT has far more functions and is free. On top of that it is being maintained almost all around the clock. The argument that MagiC is far more simple to install than MiNT vanishes with the need to flash a new bootblock in order to run MagiC. N.AES can easily be installed via a GEM program and installation of MiNT is easy, too: MINT.PRG in AUTO folder, MINT.CNF in MINT folder.
But I agree if you do want to take advantage of all MiNT functions you really need to have detailed knowledge and it is not that simple any more. However, there might soon be some GEM programs that help you along with installing and maintaing a proper MiNT environment.
You can find the latest MiNT version on the homepage of Frank Naumann. There you'll also find many other programs and links around MiNT.
N.AES is a commercial product of woller in Berlin.
FAQ about MiNT+N.AES


Ingo Schmidt 2001

TOS
MagiC
MiNT+N.AES


Milan-TOS

Das Milan-TOS ist hier und da noch etwas buggy. Michael Schwingen macht zwar den ein oder anderen Bugfix, dennoch sollte man auf MagiC oder MiNT zurückgreifen. Wer trotzdem Single-TOS vorzieht, der sollte aber als Minimum wenigstens die letzte offizielle Release des TOS benutzen, das TOS 4.08. Frühere TOS- Versionen als diese haben fehlerhafte PCI-Routinen!
Bisweilen gibt es auch die ein oder andere inoffizielle Beta-Release des TOS auf der Homepage von Michael Schwingen oder hier im Download-Bereich.

Bootblock

Was ist denn das schon wieder, ein Bootblock? Der Bootblock ist das Programm, welches als allererstes vom Rechner ausgeführt wird, noch bevor TOS gestartet wird. Der Bootblock übernimmt Aufgaben wie Hardware-Erkennung (CPU, CPU-Takt, PCI-Karten usw.) und den RAM-Test. Sind diese Aufgaben erledigt, lädt er das TOS aus dem Flash-ROM, entpackt dieses und startet es.
Und Achtung, jetzt kommt der Hammer: Neuere Bootblocks (ganz sicher ab V1.02) haben einen eingebauten x86er Emulator, um das BIOS einiger Grafikkarten ausführen zu können!!!

Milan-Setup

Das Milan-Setup-Programm (MSETUP.PRG) sollte jedem Milan beiliegen. Es dient dazu, einige Voreinstellungen ins NVRAM (= Non Volatile RAM) zu schreiben. Eine aktuelle Version des Programms gibt es im Download-Bereich.

Localization:
Hier kann man Sprache, Tastaturlayout sowie Datums- und Zeitformatierung angeben. Diese Einstellmöglichkeiten dürften bereits vom TT oder Falcon bekannt sein.

Disk:
Hier kann man einstellen, welche IDE- bzw. SCSI-Geräte man freigeben möchte. Selektiert man eine ID, ohne daß für diese ID ein Gerät angeschlossen ist, verzögert dies nur den Bootvorgang erheblich. Bei den IDE-Einstellungen hat sich gezeigt, daß es genügt, lediglich ID 0 anzuwählen.
SCSI-Geräte werden jedoch nur erkannt, wenn sie beim Booten eingeschaltet waren und ihre ID selektiert ist!

Memory:
Die Einstellungen unter 'Memory' sind lediglich für den Betrieb mit einer Soundkarte interessant. Diese kann nämlich nur auf ST-RAM zugreifen. Wer eine Soundkarte sein Eigen nennt, sollte hier also mind. 8 MB anwählen. Wer mehr als 32 MB RAM hat, kann gleich 14 MB ST-RAM vergeben.
Da das RAM im Milan physikalisch ein Stück ist, gibt es keine Geschwindigkeits-Einbußen, wie man das etwa von TT oder Falcon kennt!

PCI Bus:
Hier kann man für installierte PCI-Karten Interrupts vergeben. Das TOS macht dies beim Booten zwar automatisch, jedoch kann man über dieses Menü in die Selbständigkeit des TOS eingreifen und eben bestimmen, welche Interrupts man für die PCI-Karten verwenden will. Die Reihenfolge spielt hierbei keine Rolle. Da läßt sich das TOS nicht reinreden. Auf jeden Fall muß man aber darauf achten, daß man hier keine Interrupts vergibt, die bereits von ISA-Karten verwendet werden. Hier eine Liste verwendeter Interrupts einiger ISA-Karten:
Die Creative-Karten können auf einen beliebigen Interrupt eingestellt werden.

Flashen des TOS

Was soll denn das wieder heißen, flashen? Das TOS des Milan ist in einem sogenannten Flash-ROM untergebracht. Will man dieses neu beschreiben, nennt man diesen Vorgang kurz 'flashen'. Neben dem TOS kann man aber auch einen neuen Bootblock sowie den SCSI-Treiber mit ins ROM übertragen. Für diesen Zweck gibt es das FLASH.PRG, das jedem Milan beiliegen sollte. Außerdem ist es im Download-Bereich zu finden.
Die Bedienung dieses Programmes ist nicht allzu schwer und sollte keine Probleme bereiten. Es sei jedoch ausdrücklich darauf hingewiesen, daß der Milan beim Vorgang des Flashens in einem sehr kritischen Zustand ist: Wird der Strom während des Vorgangs abgeschaltet, hat man vermutlich ein handfestes Problem, dessen Lösung das Einschicken des Rechners ist. Man sollte das Flash-Programm also so wenig wie möglich benutzen. Es gibt im Prinzip auch nur vier Fälle, wo man das Flash-Programm einsetzen muß: Somit benötigt man das Flash-Programm eigentlich nur sehr selten!



MagiC-Milan

Das Milan-MagiC unterscheidet sich von den anderen Atari-MagiC-Versionen dadurch, daß es in einen hardwareabhängigen und einen hardwareunabhängigen Teil gesplittet wurde. Das bedeutet vor allem, daß MagiC jetzt auf ein funktionierendes TOS angewiesen ist. Bei Original-Ataris übernahm MagiC ja die volle Kontrolle des Rechners. Es bedeutet aber auch, daß eine Portierung von MagiC auf andere Hardware mit wesentlich weniger Aufwand verbunden ist als bisher.
MagiC-Milan wird auf zwei Disketten ausgeliefert:
1. MagiC Milan 6.1
2. MagiC! 6.1 Zusatzdisk
Die Installation erfolgt mit Hilfe des INSTMAGC.PRG
Um MagiC zu installieren und zu benutzen, sind einige Dinge zu beachten, bzw. gibt es einige Unterschiede zu den bisherigen MagiC-Versionen: FAQ zu MagiC

MiNT+N.AES

Meine persönliche Empfehlung für das Betriebssystem des Milan ist die Kombination aus MiNT und N.AES. MiNT bietet einen wesentlich höheren Leistungsumfang als MagiC und ist dabei noch kostenlos. Desweiteren wird es quasi rund um die Uhr weiterentwickelt. Das Argument, daß MiNT viel umständlicher zu installieren sei als MagiC, ist spätestens mit dem Flashen eines neuen Bootblocks, der ja für MagiC benötigt wird, verflogen. N.AES läßt sich komfortabel über ein GEM-Programm installieren, und bei MiNT müssen auch nur zwei Dateien an der richtigen Stelle stehen: MINT.PRG im Autoordner, MINT.CNF im MINT Ordner.
Nur wer wirklich alle Features von MiNT tatsächlich nutzen will, muß sich dann eingehender mit der Materie beschäftigen. Doch auch hier wurde Abhilfe geschaffen, denn mit EasyMiNT von Marc-Anton Kehr ist auch die Installation eines vollständigen MiNT-Systems überhaupt kein Problem mehr!
Aktuelle Versionen von MiNT gibt es auf der Homepage von Frank Naumann. Dort finden sich auch viele weitere Programme und Links rund um MiNT.
N.AES ist kommerziell und wird von der Firma woller in Berlin entwickelt und vertrieben.
FAQ zu MiNT und N.AES


Ingo Schmidt 2001